Connect with us


PML-N triumphs in PP-206 Khanewal by-election, beats PTI


Share this news

KHANEWA:– Taking a lead of more than 14,000 votes over ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Naureen Nishat Daha, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Rana Mohammad Saleem won the PP-206 Khanewal by-election on Thursday, according to unofficial results.

The interesting thing about this election is that Rana Muhammad Saleem, who lost the election on the ticket of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) in 2018, defeated his own old party PTI on the ticket of PML-N in the by-election of 2021.

The husband of current PTI candidate Noorin Nishat Daha was a PML-N candidate in 2018 and won the election. The seat was vacated due to the death of Nishat Daha.

After winning the election, the PML-N workers danced on the drum beats and celebrated. The PML-N workers also distributed sweets to celebrate the victory.

Polling for the by-poll ended at the scheduled time of 5:00 PM and vote count is still underway.

However, according to unofficial and unverified initial results, PML-N’s Rana Muhammad Saleem is leading with 47,214 votes. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Naureen Nishat is currently at second position with 33,402 votes.

The seat fell vacant after the death of disgruntled PML-N MPA Nishat Ahmed Khan Daha.

A total of 183 polling stations had been set up in the constituency for by-elections and 230,698 voters exercised their right to vote, with Rangers providing security along with police at each polling station.

The ECP said that Rangers personnel were deployed along with police at all polling stations in view of law and order situation.

At the polling station 45, a scuffle broke out between the PML-N workers and Tehreek-e-Labbaik workers.

Share this news

Popular News