Connect with us


NA speaker accepts another 35 resignations of PTI lawmakers


Share this news

Strength of PTI in National Assembly reduced by 70 seats

The National Assembly (NA) Speaker Raja Pervez Ashraf on Friday approved the resignations of another 35 lawmakers of the opposition Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

Resignations of Maleeka Ali Bokhari, Andaleeb Abbas, Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiar, Syed Fakhr Imam and others have been accepted.

The accepted resignations include four women reserved seats.

The move came forward amid threats from the PTI to return to parliament only to foil a vote of confidence, which the party hoped President Dr Arif Alvi would seek from Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif.

Below are the PTI members whose resignations have been approved in the fresh episode.

Earlier, NA speaker on Tuesday suddenly accepted long-awaited resignations of PTI members.

The previous phase of approved resignations included names of Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Asad Umar, Shafqat Mahmood, Sheikh Rashid Ahmed and others.

Following the move, a notification to de-seat the lawmakers who had resigned was also issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).


Share this news