Connect with us


KPK Local Body Elections 2021: JUI-F wipes out ruling PTI to gain majority



Share this news

PESHAWAR:– In the first phase of local body elections in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the PTI provincial government has been defeated in several places and the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) failed to even win a single mayoral slot, while the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) has changed the direction of “Change”.

The 17 districts where elections were held include Peshawar, Nowshera, Charsadda, Khyber, Mohmand, Mardan, Swabi, Kohat, Karak, Hangu, Bannu, Lakki Marwat, Dera Ismail Khan, Tank, Haripur, Buner and Bajaur.

Over 12.668 million registered voters, including 7,015,757 male and 5,653,095 female voters, would decide the fate of 37,752 candidates contesting for different seats, while 4,188 polling stations were declared sensitive and 2,507 most sensitive.

On the other hand, there 676 candidates were contesting elections for 65 seats of city mayor and tehsil chairman. PTI is the only party which had fielded candidates for all the 65 seats. JUI-F had fielded 59 candidates, ANP is in third position with 55 candidates, while 51 candidates of PML-N and 47 candidates of Jamaat-e-Islami contested polls, while PPP’s 43, 14 candidates of Qaumi Wattan Party (QWP) and 305 independent candidates were hopeful for victory.

Every voter had been able to cast 6 votes in the election, the color of the ballot paper had been different for different seats, white ballot paper had been used for city mayor / tehsil chairman. Silver color had been allotted for the general seat of Neighborhood / Village Council.

Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam is leading in the elections while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) suffered upset defeat in several places. According to preliminary results.

According to unconfirmed and unofficial results, the results of 58 out of 64 seats have been declared and the JUI-F has won 21 seats of Tehsil Chairmen including three mayoral elections.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is on the second position in the election. Despite being the provincial government, PTI has been unable to win single mayoral election yet. However, it was declared the winner in the election of 14 tehsil chairmen.

The Awami National Party has won 8 seats so far including one Mayor and seven Tehsil Chairmen seats. Seven Independent candidates won the election of Tehsil Chairman.

Pakistan Muslim League-N won 3 seats, Jamaat-e-Islami won 2 seats, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and Tehreek-e-Islah Pakistan won one seat each.

Despite being in government, PTI lost the city mayoral election in Peshawar. According to unconfirmed and unofficial results, the winning candidate and son-in-law of Ameer Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F) Maulana Fazlur Rehman Zubair Ali Khan secured 62,388 votes while the PTI candidate obtained 50,659 votes, Awami National Party came third with 49596 votes, PPP candidate Arbab Zark Khan got 45 thousand 958 votes.

Share this news

Popular News