Connect with us


33-member federal cabinet takes oath


Share this news

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif’s 34-member federal cabinet has taken the oath in a ceremony at President House.

The oath was administered by acting President Sadiq Sanjarani as President Arif Alvi has excused from administering the oath due to his ill health.

Three ministers of state and 31 federal minister took the oath. The cabinet include 14 members from PMLN, nine from PPP, four from JUI-F, two from MQM-P, one each from JWP and PML-Q.

The federal ministers include: Ahsan Iqbal, Rana Sanaullah, Khawaja Asif, Rana Tanveer, Saad Rafiq, Murtaza Javed Abbasi, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, Khrram Dastagir, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Miftah ismail, Javed Latif, Riaz Hussain Peerzada, Azam Nazeer Tarar, Abid Hussain Bhayo, Khursheed Shah, Naveed Qamar, Sherry Rehman, Abdul Qadir Patel, Shazia Marri, Syed Murtaza Mehmood, Sajid Toori, Ehsaan ur Rehman Mazari, Asad Mehmood, Abdul Wasay, Mufti Abdul Shakoor, Talha Mehmood, Amin ul Haq, Faisal Sabzwari, Asrar Tareen, Nawabzada Shahzian Bugti and Tariq Bashir Cheema.

Three ministers of state, Ayesha Ghaus Pasha, Hina Rabbani Khar and Abdul Rehman Kanju also took the oath.

The portfolios of these members will be notified later.

The formation of the cabinet had been a topic of intense discussion as the Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif failed to build a consensus among the allies. This delayed the cabinet’s formation by eight days.

The cabinet is likely to be expanded in the coming days.

who was once a close aide of former Prime Minister Imran Khan, is likely to be inducted in the cabinet as an adviser.

Chaudhry is part of the Tareen group, which include PTI members in the National and Punjab Assemblies. The group is led by Jehangir Khan Tareen.

Share this news
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *